egg in a hole (like my dad used to make)

Happy Wednesday! It’s the middle of the week and I have a food post that is going to be short and sweet. It’s an easy breakfast that I used to get for breakfast on a pretty regular basis. It is called ‘Egg In A Hole’ or ‘Eggs In A Basket’, but I grew up calling it ‘Egg In A Hole’ . This was a go to breakfast for my dad to make as I was an avid horseback rider and hockey player and usually was on the go. I was also the wake up 15 minutes before school, so a lot of the time I would come downstairs to this made and already on the table. My dad was great!

 Even though this is a simple thing to make, it is a filing breakfast and easy to make. All you need is the following;

  • 2 slices of bread
  • 2 eggs
  • butter or margerine
  • grated cheese (optional)
  • small juice glass or round cookie cutter
  • frying pan
  • fruit to eat with your meal

The first thing I did was take 2 slices of bread for myself (one day I made it for OH as well so I used 4 pieces of bread) and used a small clean juice glass to cut out circles from the center of each piece of bread.

cut bread

Heating the pan to medium – I melted about 1/2 tbsp of butter and added the bread.

I then cracked an egg into each hole in the bread.

egg cooking

Once that was cooked on both sides (I like them over easy, then you can dip your circle toasts into the egg – this is also where you would add grated cheese if you like that kind of thing), I plated them and served with fruit.

 This one is with half a grapefruit.

grapefruit

And this one is with a small bowl of cherries and cheese grated on top.

cherries

Here is a blog post for a similar breakfast that is just as easy and probably just as good – click here!

2 thoughts on “egg in a hole (like my dad used to make)

    • I don’t know what I do differently. Maybe if you use extra large eggs than it doesn’t keep in the hole? I use predominantly small to medium eggs as I get them farm fresh from a friend!

Leave a Reply

